Obedience

Matthew 21:6 The disciples went and did as Jesus had instructed them.

It’s easier to follow Jesus when he’s standing right in front of you giving directions. It’s hard to sit still and listen. Oftentimes I’d shout in frustration “Just send me an email and I’ll do it!”. I don’t think the internet reaches up there…. but “the cloud” be close. 🙂

The disciples didn’t always understand why they were doing it, but they had experience knowing that if Jesus said do “x”, then “x” needed to be done.

I WANT to do God’s will. I WANT to be a vessel for his glory. I WANT to not rely on my human understanding, and trust in God. But how can I be sure what I’m doing is actually his will and not my desire. I have experience knowing how he moves in my life.

This brings me to my current “desire” … owning a house. I’ve wanted to buy something over the past 15 years but it wasn’t within my reach. Then my disability, resulting in bankruptcy, is a bad mark on my record. I have a down payment now, and a lovely house picked out. Now if financing comes through, we’re golden!

However, I still struggle with “Is this God’s will?”. I don’t know. I DO know He has plans to prosper me, I understand that. But is THIS how he’s going to do that? Is there something else I’m not hearing? I could make lots of arguments on why this is good for me, or that I “deserve” it. It’s a modest home, under $100K. It has everything that I’ve wanted in a home which basically means there’s a dishwasher, bedrooms and bathrooms. I could even do without a stove since most of what I eat is raw veggies. LOL It’s in a nice quiet area with enough land so I’m not 10 feet from my neighbors…… but!!

All I can do is commit it to the Lord. Just as I know he can work miracles, he can also stop me from doing the wrong thing. I’ve witnessed both. So, I commit it every time I find myself daydreaming about what furniture to put where….”only if it’s your will”. This is hard.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.